LetsGoDigital for Sale
  Últimas noticias Apple Canon Casio Fujifilm HTC LG Nikon Nokia Olympus Panasonic Pentax Ricoh Rollei Samsung Sony  
Lets Go Digital
 
     
Powered by True
Counted by OneStat.com




Sony Cybershot DSC R1 price - review rating - digital camera prices

Sony Cybershot DSC R1 review

Average user rating: 83%

Brand Sony
Type Cybershot DSC R1
Resolution 10.30 Mpixel
Maximum resolution 3882x2592 pixels
Optical zoom Si
LCD screen size 2-inch
Video function No
Dimensions 139x168x97


Recommended related news article

Sony Cybershot DSC R1 review

Sony Cybershot DSC R1 specification

Sony Cybershot R1 preview

Sony Cybershot R1 introduction



Sony Cybershot DSC R1 Reviews from camera owners


R. Liem - United States
September 24th 2005 - 09:00 GMT

After waiting for two years for an improved F-828, I am glad that Sony came out with the R1 with the wider zoom of 24 mm, but disappointed that Sony cut short the telephoto to 124 mm instead of keeping it at 200 mm. Another area of regrate is the loss of the faily decent macro capability of the F828. After learning to manage with the video clip of the F828, I am also dismayed at the loss of this feature. The swivel body design of the F828 is unique and very functional after one get used to it. I was hoping that Sony took cared of the handicaps of the F828 instead of abandoning it. Some inprovements needed were: a locking swivel, a larger higher definition rear LCD screen, wider zoom to 24 mm equivalent, and a locking mode dial to name a few.


personal rating: 80%

Gerhard Fuehring - Austria
October 12th 2005 - 22:30 GMT

I use the F828 for two years now and hope the R1 solves the following weaknesses: 1. the LCD displays (both) resolution is poor and (for me) the biggest problem because it makes composing very diffcult. 2. The RAW-mode (like TIFF) is much too slow and therefore useless. 3. The small chip creates high noise when you use higher ISO-settings (I ALLWAYS used 64 ISO!) The loss of the video-features isn't a loss at all, the quality was poor anyway. The reduced zoom-lenght of the R1 is a problem I hope the extension lens (1.7) works.


personal rating: 75%

Robert Green - United States
November 8th 2006 - 14:30 GMT

I've had a Sony DSC-R1 since Nov 2005 and I love it! You just can't beat the quality of that Karl Zeiss lens. I did a hiking trip to the Canadian Rockies last month and came home with hundreds of drop dead gorgeous landscape shots. Everyone I've shown them to has been completely floored by them. In 2005, I took a Canon Digital Rebel on a similar trip and trashed it (after owning it for just 5 weeks) due to exposure to the tough conditions. The Cybershot DSC-R1 has really got my confidence back up and I'm really enjoying photography again, after the Canon debacle.


personal rating: 95%

Keith Towers - United Kingdom
November 8th 2006 - 14:30 GMT

Coming from fairly high end 35mm film camera the Sony CyberShot R1 is a good introduction camera to the digital format if you are used to cracking lenses. The CZ lens on the DSC-R1 is superb. The CMOS sensor is a biggy which means the pixels have room to breath and thus quality much better. The Sony body is constructed to a high standard with all the buttons within easy reach. Raw is too slow for anything other than landscape photography and you only get 76 + or - shots on a 2GB card. Fine JPEG gives over 400 shots on a 2gig card. Fine jpeg will deliver good prints up to 16x20 (the highest I've gone). Overall Impressions - A great bridge camera at a sensible price, but I wish I could have afforded the Canon 5D with a similar L series zoom.


personal rating: 75%

A.R. Vogel - France
November 7th 2006 - 18:00 GMT

The Sony Cybershot DSC R1 would be close to perfect if the lenses could be changed.


personal rating: 70%

Peter White - United Kingdom
November 7th 2006 - 17:00 GMT

I take architectural photos. Every photo needs different camera settings which rules out DSLRs. My Sony Cybershot DSC-R1 replaced an Olympus C-5060 (I must have a wide-angle lens). The DSC-R1 has been a revelation, the view finder's clarity and usability, and the lens is distortion free from 24 - 120mm equiv. Criticised for focussing in dim light - I use manual focussing using the distance read-out in the viewfinder. Also criticised for lack of zoom - the 10MP allows for a lot of cropping. My wish list for the R2 would only be a Super Fine JPEG recording mode - approx 8MB files instead of 4MB. I do hope that Sony's new Alpha DSLR does not spell the end of their line of high quality fixed lens cameras.


personal rating: 95%

Vongy Vongston - United States
November 7th 2006 - 17:00 GMT

I just bought a new Sony Cybershot DSC R1 after using an F717 for a few years. In one word:awesome! I am tired of hearing so much whining about lens range, RAW speed, viewfinder issues, slow focus, macro, etc. Sony has again presented us with a phenomenal piece of equipment. Look at what this camera offers. ZEISS optics, an APS class, CMOS sensor and the sweetest looking camera currently available!! OK, it's not for sports photographers. So what! I don’t do sports! My hat is off again to Sony. A wonderful camera!


personal rating: 100%

Phil Hartley - United Kingdom
May 23rd 2006 - 21:00 GMT

Whilst the Cybershot R1 is a very competent camera for general outdoor photography, I find that the focussing is less than satisfactory in lower light levels. I have tried to use it in a studio situation where the studio flash modelling lights were the only light available for the autofocus to work by and even though the light equated to a total of 400 watts, the Sony DSC R1 only managed to focus about every 1 in 5 attempts. The write times for RAW files are also too long for anything other than the sedate pace of landscape work. All in all I think a potentially great camera, has been let down by these aspects of it's performance and I find it is being left in my bag far more than it is being used.


personal rating: 55%

Abdul Noushad - India
March 7th 2006 - 21:00 GMT

10.3 Mega resolution, APS size (21.5x14.4mm) CMOS sensor relatively larger than any other prosumer range camera. This is really great compared to images from the DSC F828 camera because size of sensor was just 8.8 x 6.6mm, which is relatively much smaller than the DSC R1. But the macro focus distance was really an unexpected range for this kind of camera, something really like a DSLR camera around 35cm, I think this is a really disappointing factor. The image output is really awesome. We will have great freedom to take prints up to A2 size with out any distortion or pixelisation. Normally compact or prosumer range cameras will have more freedom of taking close up shots. This is the area Sony should improve I think.


personal rating: 90%

Sandy Bartlett - United States
March 17th 2006 - 22:00 GMT

Love it. I bought the Sony DSC R1 to complement my Nikon D70, (that always has a 18-200 VR on it.) I use it as a back up at small weddings I do. 10 megapixel, simply loves light, at 400 to 800 ISO little noise. Some claim its not fast, but fast enough for me. The Cybershot R1 will take 10mp jpgs as fast as you can pump the button, and perhaps 12 raw images in a min. So I won't cover football games. Two key points for me; Silent and beautiful. I love to be able to shoot absolutely silent at a wedding with that Zeiss lens and APS CMOS. And the pictures are beautiful. As one reviewer put it "this camera just loves light". It won't replace my Nikon D70 and 18-200, but it will take every bit as good or better pictures in some situations.


personal rating: 90%

Amarpreet Singh - India
June 24th 2006 - 12:00 GMT

I'm using digital cameras since Sony launched its FD7. I'm a professional photographer working in India (New Delhi) doing product digital photography. After using the Sony F828 from quiet a long time I'm very much impressed by the Cybershot R1, the sharpness of this digital camera is flawless. This Sony digital camera is helpful in even those conditions where my other digital camera lags behind. Although, I would have preferred it to have a better macro facility than the F828. Most importantly the ISO rating should have gone till 50 ISO rather than 160 as compared to the 64 ISO of the Sony F828. But the overall performance of the CyberShot R1 is awesome due to its colour saturation, good quality contrast. No camera can come up to this level if its aperture range can go up to F22. I'm a proud owner of the Sony R1.


personal rating: 90%

Khaled Gawdat - Egypt
January 29th 2006 - 15:30 GMT

I had a Sony F828 for 2 year together with a Nikon D70 with many lenses. I rarely used the F828 because it was not as reliable. I traded it in for a Sony R1. It is the best camera I have used for over 30 years. Superb picture with a large DSLR sensor, a nice 24-120 lens yes it does not go to 200 mm but it goes wider to 24 instead of 28 mm. Perfect raw pictures with good software contols. Live screen with a DSLR quality is unique. I stopped using the Nikon D70 and postponed the plan to buy the Nikon D200 for now. I strongly recommend the Sony Cybershot DSC R1.


personal rating: 100%

Ronnie Choong - Malaysia
January 29th 2006 - 15:30 GMT

Have been using the Sony Cybershot R1 for about 1 month now, and I fully agree with your review, this one ground-breaking cameras and has loads of unique features not found in other cameras, I have owned and used quite a number of digital cameras in the past like the excellent Nikon D100 and D70, as well as the prosumer Canon Pro1, and also a couple of digicams like the Ixus 700, and Sony M1. I love the lens provided by Carl Zeiss and the range suits my photography style and subjects.. as I use my camera mainly for shooting people, a little bit of travel photography and some architectural photography, color and exposure is spot on, focusing and shutter speed though needs to be improve. The unusual position of the LCD is very good as now I have started to shoot waist level shots and that gives new perspective to my photos...it is also easier to hold still that way. Overall I think it is a brilliant effort by Sony, though people may complain about the lack of video capabilities, for me that is not an issue as Digital SLR do not have that too, I believe if you want to have decent video, you should go ahead and get a good camcorder instead.


personal rating: 95%

Loupiote - United States
December 9th 2005 - 22:00 GMT

Has anyone tried the Raynox DCR-2020PRO 2.2x telephoto converter on the DSC-R1? Also, I loved the "photo with audio" feature, which I used more than the video, but a better mpeg-4 video capability would have been nice. Overall the improvements of the R1 over the F828 are mixed, i.e. there are lots of cool features of the F828 that are gone in the R1. The most obvious being a 200mm zoom and the excellent macro of the F828. The resolution gain in the R1 is not a lot, really. 12 megapixel would have been nice. I think I'll stick with my F828 for now...


personal rating: 50%

Glenn Rosenberg - United Kingdom
April 5th 2006 - 11:00 GMT

The Cybershot DSC R1 is a very good camera but does have some limitations. The lens is superb, but the big difference is the sensor, I had an F828 and this is so much better. Graduation and accuracy has jumped leaps and bounds and this camera produces stunning photographs. A few niggles, the burst is only 3 frames, I do not like the LCD placement and they have dumped the laser hologram in low lighting that was a superb feature on the F828. For the money, there is however nothing that comes close and as people have said the lens alone is worth the cost. I have compared this to a Nikon D70 & Canon 350D and they are not as good with a similar lens ( however they are more flexible ). I find the 350D in comparison to be poorly built. Overall : The Sony Cybershot DSC R1 is a very good digital camera.


personal rating: 91%





CES 2013
  Accesorios Android Apps Camaras digitales Smartphones Software Tablets Telefonos moviles Videocamaras   CES CeBIT Gadgets IFA Photokina PMA