LetsGoDigital for Sale
  Últimas noticias Apple Canon Casio Fujifilm HTC LG Nikon Nokia Olympus Panasonic Pentax Ricoh Rollei Samsung Sony  
Lets Go Digital
 
     
Powered by True
Counted by OneStat.com




Pentax Optio WPi price - review rating - digital camera prices

Pentax Optio WPi review

Average user rating: 79%

Brand Pentax
Type Optio WPi
Resolution 6.36 Mpixel
Maximum resolution 2816x2112 pixels
Optical zoom Si
LCD screen size 2-inch
Video function Si
Dimensions 102x51x22


Recommended related news article

Pentax Optio WPi review

Pentax Optio WPi specification

Pentax Optio WPi introduction

Pentax Optio WPi | IFA 2005

DxO Optics Pro supports Nikon D200

Pentax Optio WPi Special Edition | PMA 2006

Pentax Optio WPi Valentines day gift

Pentax Optio WPi camera bundled



Pentax Optio WPi Reviews from camera owners


Martin Davis - Germany
October 31st 2005 - 23:45 GMT

Brilliant! Had it for two weeks in Spain then it was stolen! I ordered another Optio WPi immediately. Great photos, took some time getting used to different zoom/flash/colour techniques under water. My only complaint is that I can't get hold of the Skin anywhere. Even mailed Pentax but can't get onto their site to buy it. And why not Include the water resistant strap! Can't get that either. Not sure that floating is such a good idea, the temptation then would be not to secure it to yourself. I got a few droplets of water under the battery/card cover after extensive underwater use but these were always Outside of the seal. Had one day of torrential rain in Salou and of course could use the WPi without concern - got some funny looks, but some good photos!


personal rating: 85%

Shaunotter - United States
October 21st 2005 - 21:15 GMT

Faster start-up time (0.6 sec vs. 3.5 sec) makes it superior to older WP for getting more shots. Looks like the Optio WPi is the best available truly waterPROOF point&shoot out right now - and to make it float they'd have to add a substantial amount of air chamber to it, making it substantially bigger, or make it out of plastic, maybe? I wish the thing had faster continuous/high-resolution performance for more shots in a row, and 640x480 @ 30fps video so it'd be better for whitewater kayaking and other action. And not just bringing back the optical viewfinder!!, but making it a jumbo one right over the lens... It might even float then :) Whitewater kayakers have been thrashed in large rapids with this thing in their mesh and fabric life vest pockets with no problems that I've heard of - this thing seems to exceed its waterproof rating.


personal rating: 80%

Daragh - United Kingdom
November 8th 2006 - 14:30 GMT

I have had the Pentax Optio WPi digital camera for a good few months now - I haven't read one page of the manual - however I find with a little trial and error you can get amazing photos from this little beauty! I've shown some photos both underwater and above - and friend and people I don't know well enough to be polite have argued and thought they were professional photos off the web! Even the underwater video of the Optio WPi is good enough, I'm going travelling and not taking a video camera cause its that good. If you disagree then your looking in the wrong price range and should look into more professional gear.


personal rating: 98%

Roy Rhoads - United States
November 8th 2006 - 14:30 GMT

The Pentax Optio WPi is a great 2nd camera for its size, the Macro advantage of o.4 " to 24." plus the water proof protection when carried under field use. To all fisherman & hunters this is the only recorder to carry to the field.


personal rating: 95%

Marco - United States
November 15th 2005 - 22:10 GMT

I use the Optio WPi as a job site work camera. Just last week I left it in a cotton work jacket and laundered it (short 21min cycle) and it came out very clean and working great.


personal rating: 95%

W.C. Inro - United States
March 8th 2006 - 23:00 GMT

Great little camera. We took the Pentax Optio WPi with us to Baja on a kayak trip. Sand, water, sun - no problems. My only complaint about this camera is that when I took pictures in bright sun, I couldn't see the images in the monitor. A viewfinder would be a nice addition. Otherwise, I really like the camera. It took good close ups with the macro setting, and even though I couldn't see well in the sun/monitor, I still got some good pictures by just pointing and shooting.


personal rating: 90%

Seng - United States
January 2nd 2006 - 22:00 GMT

I bought this a couple weeks ago before a snowboarding trip and so far I'm impressed. I bought the Optio WPi primarily for the waterproofness and it seems good so far after crashing in snow/rain while doing video while riding. Very easy to use, even with gloves on- buttons are not big, but are far enough apart so as not to conflict. The customizable green button is great (I use exposure comp and white balance regularly). I normally shoot dSLRs so I realized I was giving up a fair amount in terms of image quality (would have gone with Canon options for image quality alone), but since most shots with this camera are for web or online viewing, environmental seals and ease of use outweigh resolution concerns for me. Needs AF assist, though.


personal rating: 90%

Stacey Smith - United States
January 29th 2006 - 15:30 GMT

Don't buy the Pentax Optio WPi, this camera is really delicate. I never dropped it but when it stopped working (wouldn't turn on). I took it back to the shop where I bought it and Pentax warranty said it was impact related and will cost $200 to fix. It's amazing to see other reviews where people are skiing with it but it couldn't handle small bumps for me. Well unless you like overpriced cameras that will hit your pocketbook later, stay away from this one.


personal rating: 50%

Bill - Canada
January 29th 2006 - 15:30 GMT

I bought this camera to take to Australia. The camera worked great for a couple of weeks and then quit. I had assumed it got water in it. I had used the camera well within the manufacturer's limits. When I returned from holidays after missing out on some great shots, I took it into the store I bought it from. They called after sending it in to Pentax and said that the warranty was void due to water damage! I am waiting to here back from the Pentax rep. but I am going to be extremely disappointed if they don't fix or replace the camera. I can't tell you how disappointing this was, I really liked the camera for the two weeks it functioned. Until I have a positive resolution to this my rating reflects the amount of photos I am able to take with this camera at the moment.


personal rating: 0%

JS Victor - Sultanate of Oman
January 21st 2006 - 03:30 GMT

I've purchase the Pentax Optio WPi about a week ago. It works great outdoors and well lit indoors. The flash isn't very effective in real dark situations. The water and dust proofing gives added confidence while venturing into the wild outdoors. On the whole it's a great digital camera.


personal rating: 85%

Dan - United States
January 21st 2006 - 03:30 GMT

I took the Optio WPi digital camera into the jungles of South America. Canoe rides, rain, bumps and scrapes. This camera is Outstanding! I've read some reviews that say the indoor ability is poor but I disagree. The pictures are beautiful. Great cam for the adventurer.


personal rating: 100%

Daragh Everett - United Kingdom
April 5th 2006 - 11:00 GMT

The Pentax Optio WPi camera is amazing, I hear people saying the one they had stopped working for no reason, I understand how they feel, I spent £100 on a brand new camera (rubbish) off a flight! Never do this! Although it was useless anyway, the camera stopped for no reason. Its so annoying cause I had the same problems but after some talking (the right way) I got a full refund even on postage. As for the Optio WPi I now have! Underwater it works brilliant. Remember its digital so take loads of the same photo and keep the best, having this camera doesn't mean all your photos are gonna be perfect or even good, same as all cameras. I've had some real fun with this one. I saw a program that tested it at 100ft and it worked! There are a lot made & the odd could be faulty?


personal rating: 100%

Mike H. - Canada
April 22nd 2006 - 23:00 GMT

I bought the Pentax Optio WPi camera as a compact, waterproof complement to my workhorse - a Canada PowerShot G3. The Optio WPi occasionally produces very good photos, but for a 6MP camera, I find most images blurry and noisy. Most images require post-correction with Photoshop. I realize there are limitations to such a small lens and sensor, but the Canon Digital Elph and Sony DSC-T5 with similar-sized optics take much better photographs.


personal rating: 65%





CES 2013
  Accesorios Android Apps Camaras digitales Smartphones Software Tablets Telefonos moviles Videocamaras   CES CeBIT Gadgets IFA Photokina PMA