Últimas noticias Apple Canon Casio Fujifilm HTC LG Nikon Nokia Olympus Panasonic Pentax Ricoh Rollei Samsung Sony  
Lets Go Digital
 
     
Powered by True
Counted by OneStat.com




Canon Powershot S3 IS price - review rating - digital camera prices

Canon Powershot S3 IS review

Average user rating: 91%

Brand Canon
Type Powershot S3 IS
Resolution 6.00 Mpixel
Maximum resolution 2816x2112 pixels
Optical zoom Si
LCD screen size 2.0
Video function Si
Dimensions 113.4x78x75.5


Recommended related news article

Canon Powershot S3 IS review

Canon Powershot S3 IS specification

Canon PowerShot S3 IS



Canon Powershot S3 IS Reviews from camera owners


George - United States
November 8th 2006 - 14:30 GMT

The only thing I can complain about are the lack of a bulb setting and a "weak" strobe light, everything else seems great! Having used an S2 IS for a week prior, one upgrade I really appreciate is the S3's showing a large picture of the mode you select, then it shrinks and moves it up to the corner as not block your view. Excellant for not needing to move the camera body to see what mode you've selected. Most of my film pictures were taken with a very low ISO and available light. The S3's electronics and Image Stab can correct for all but the highest quality film shots. "My Colors" is time consuming to use, but really saves on needing a collection of add-on filters. I love the AA size batteries. Overall I think very highly of Canon's S3 IS.


personal rating: 98%

Amanda Geddes - Canada
November 7th 2006 - 17:00 GMT

I love the Canon Powershot S3 IS. I waited for it to become available in Canada (after reading all the American reviews), and I drove 1.5 hrs to pick it up. I hoped that with my $810 bill (after a couple accessories), that this camera was what it was promised. It was! The day after I got my camera I went to a five day festival offering the oddest of odd attractions and wanted to capture everything. I took just over 1000 pictures and was not let down. I feel that the ease of use, packed with the stabilizer and small package make this camera great for beginners, or first-timers. The added features make it great fun for the more experienced. Even my 9-year-old daughter has had great times with this camera. Finally there is a camera designed for the family, and at an affordable price: the Canon Powershot S3 IS.


personal rating: 95%

George - United States
November 7th 2006 - 17:00 GMT

The only thing I can complain about in the Canon Powershot S3 IS are the lack of bulb setting and a "weak" strobe light, everything else seems great! Having used an S2 IS for a week prior, one upgrade I really appreciate is the S3's showing a large picture of the mode you select, then it shrinks and moves it up to the corner as not to block your view. It is excellent for not needing to move the camera body to see what mode you've selected. Most of my film pictures were taken with a very low ISO and available light. The S3's electronics and Image Stab can correct for all but the highest quality film shots. "My Colors" is time consuming to use, but really saves on needing a collection of add-on filters. I love the AA size batteries. Overall I think very highly of Canon's S3 IS.


personal rating: 98%

Jugstar - United States
November 7th 2006 - 17:00 GMT

Last March my wife dropped and broke my KM Dimage Z3 and the cost to fix it was $10 less than a new one on e-bay. So I started looking and found that Canon was coming out with the Power Shot S3 IS in May. I purchased it online and have been thrilled with it. I got excellent clear pictures of the full moon (craters and all) with the 12x zoom and the histogram display under the shutter speed mode. It is versatile from point-and-shoot simplicity to more advance modes. I wish it had a remote function and my thumb seems to find the menu button at the wrong time. The camera takes great pictures and I am having fun discovering its versatility.


personal rating: 95%

Thierry - Canada
November 7th 2006 - 17:00 GMT

I've been an amateur photographer for about 20 years but with the Canon Powershot S3 IS I am having real fun for the first time. It takes great photos of stars with it's 15sec. exposure and 800ISO. That's the lowest priced digital camera I saw able to take photos when you want, not 1 second too late. The only con I got after 2 months is that it is difficulty to handle, in that it is easy to involuntarily press a button or hit the auto-focus light. Also the possibility to use the 6MP DCC to take 3MP photos with 24x zoom would have been a great plus (like Sony's intelligent zoom).


personal rating: 92%

Dixon - Australia
November 7th 2006 - 17:00 GMT

The Canon Powershot S3 IS is a very good camera for the price you pay. I you can afford it, go ahead, it is worth the price. I bought one three days ago, and I found it remarkable. (I have a history of 35 years of amateur photography experience) This is probably the best camera I have owned! Just type ‘S3 IS’ in a google bar and do research, which is what I did - it is true! A great camera which all others envy !


personal rating: 90%

EZB - Italy
November 7th 2006 - 17:00 GMT

The Canon Powershot S3 IS a very good camera, it is powerful, easy to learn, use and carry. It has a bit light-plastic-style, but it’s not too bad. The 12x zoom and supermacro mode are amazing. AA batteries are the best choice (mostly for travellers); they are cheap, and perform well. The camera has lots of tools and controls for photography lovers (grid, istogram,...). The pictures mostly have great results, with well-balanced tones. There is some softness, which is usual for Canon, (but you can even change this). There are some fringed borders (in high lights), but I guess it's quite normal for such a complex, long-range lens. I’d like to add a manual zoom ring control, a metal tripod mount, wider zoom lenses, a paper manual, no memory card at all (and lower price) or just a usable card (16 MB is really nothing).


personal rating: 90%

Norm - Canada
May 14th 2006 - 23:00 GMT

Photography has been my hobby for years. I was seriously considering upgrading from my P&S to a dSLR however I decided on the PowerShot S3 IS because of its easier portability, image stabilizer, 12x zoom, and movie mode. Although I have only had my Canon S3 IS for 1 week, I can say that I am thrilled with this digital camera. I give it an excellent rating in terms of picture quality, build quality, ergonomics and features. Highly recommended. What I would have liked are a bigger screen and better resolution in both the screen and viewer however these shortcomings are not enough for me to lower my rating of the Canon PowerShot S3 IS camera.


personal rating: 90%

Michael Grover - Canada
July 31st 2006 - 16:00 GMT

My dad stole my Konica-Minolta Z1 and K.M. doesn't sell digital cameras anymore so I had to start over. I was considering moving up to a dSLR but really couldn't afford the lenses. I read a good review on the Canon S3IS. First it was a bit of a disappointment to me. I took the camera to the church to take pictures of my friends ordination. The movie mode looked great! But when I tried to take a still picture, the camera moved out of focus before taking the picture. I noticed similar problems in other low light conditions. I took the camera back and got it replaced. The new PowerShot S3 IS works beautifully in program mode. It still seems to have problems in auto flash and other scene modes though. Could use more low light capability. Much to learn yet!


personal rating: 85%

Richard - United States
July 31st 2006 - 16:00 GMT

1. As every photographer knows, you must rotate a camera around the nodal point of the lens to avoid parallax error when taking a panorama picture. Canon offers a panorama feature in their PowerShot S3is camera but will not disclose the position of the nodal points of the lens. What jerks! 2. "Auto" Mode is a total waste of memory and functionality. The "P" Mode does exactly the same thing. 3. The tripod hole should be under the wide angle nodal point but it's not. 4. There is no simple way to attach a traditional UV filter lens to protect the camera's lens from dirt and scratches. Not threading the end of the lens barrel must have saved Canon 2 cents per camera. Think of that when you scratch your camera's lens.


personal rating: 50%

Jim - United States
July 31st 2006 - 16:00 GMT

After months of painful research I finally purchased the PowerShot S3 IS. The only question I now have (after three weeks of ownership) is why I waited so long! This camera is great and so far I have only seen one reason to keep my Elan SLR system. When I photograph running animals the shutter delay on the Canon S3 IS is a bit long. The work around seems to be movie mode at 60 frames per second, then find the picture (frame) I want and save it. Still for everything else the camera gives up little if any to the Elan. I have "frozen" action that lets me see single hairs on a dog at a full speed run from 60 feet. The camera is amazing!


personal rating: 95%

Jean Deristel - United States
July 23rd 2006 - 10:30 GMT

In my humble opinion the Canon PowerShot S3 IS is the best non-DSLR camera on the market. Pictures are amazing, the clarity and color balance of the pictures are great. There are 2 key things that made me purchase the camera. I know there are cameras with bigger LCD screens but this one swivels. I was able to get great pictures of my son while behind a crowd of parents, because I was able to hold the camera in the air over the crowd. The second thing is the fact that when shooting video it records in stereo. The resolution on the LCD may not be the best in class, but that only adds to the excitement when you get the picture on your system and it look 10 times better. I had pictures that I thought were poor, but once I uploaded them to my PC I was so surprised.


personal rating: 99%

Previn - United Kingdom
July 23rd 2006 - 10:30 GMT

After waiting long years, I bought one camera after spending at least two weeks in almost all the online camera reviews and user reviews. Good, I really enjoyed the image color sense, quality, zoom, different modes. Now after couple of R&D, I felt manual mode is better than auto mode, but you really need to spend hours with your camera to learn to get the best. Again that is why you bought the best one. I would also like to recommend a few other cameras for your review before buying this one. 1. Canon S80, almost same price, you will get 8Mg, but <4x zoom, and less options to play with manual. 2. Canon A700, 6Mg, but 6x zoom (enough for normal use), light weight(2 btry), and compact. And if you cant compromise, yes go for Canon PowerShot S3iS.


personal rating: 90%

Melissa - United States
July 23rd 2006 - 10:30 GMT

I was going on vacation to Russia and wanted a better camera than my compact with little zoom. I could not afford a Canon Rebel and decided on this newer style of Canon Powershot cameras because of the 6 megapixels and because of the faster shooting speed. I have to say that all of the features of the PowerShot S3 IS are amazing and I really like the color accent feature. The 12 optical zoom is great and this camera is able to take really good close ups with the super macro function. I was really impressed with the fact that I can buy three different attachable lenses and a flash for the camera which I hope to collect in time.


personal rating: 100%

ScoobaDood - United States
July 16th 2006 - 02:00 GMT

I have been a photographer for over 30 years and have owned many camera systems, from point & shoot to medium format cameras. The Canon S3 IS is far and away the most fun and easy to use camera I have ever owned. I love It! I have the tele and wide lenses and the little flash, with a few filters thrown in and it makes a powerful, yet compact, lightweight system. Image quality is beautiful with tons of artistic feature options for advanced shooters, but also auto settings for newbies to get great results too! Very near perfect in its price range. A couple minor issues, like an even larger screen would have been nice, yet 2.0" is very acceptable. Highly marks for the Canon PowerShot S3 IS!


personal rating: 95%

Kar - Canada
July 16th 2006 - 02:00 GMT

I am a teen and I bought the Canon PowerShot S3 IS digital camera. I've not been disappointed in any way. A bigger screen would have been nice but overall I love the camera. The quality of the pictures it takes is amazing. I wouldn't trade it for any other camera. I highly recommend it!


personal rating: 98%





Nikon D3300
  Android Apps Camaras digitales Smartphones Software Tablets Telefonos moviles Videocamaras   CES CeBIT Gadgets IFA Photokina PMA