LetsGoDigital for Sale
  News Headlines Apple Canon Casio Fujifilm HTC LG Nikon Nokia Olympus Panasonic Pentax Ricoh Rollei Samsung Sony  
Lets Go Digital
 
     
Powered by True
Counted by OneStat.com




Sony Alpha 100 price - review rating - digital camera prices

Sony Alpha 100 review

Average user rating: 78%

Brand Sony
Type Alpha 100
Resolution 10.20 Mpixel
Maximum resolution 3872x2592 pixels
Optical zoom n/a
LCD screen size 2.5-inch
Video function No
Dimensions 133x95x71


Recommended related news article

Sony Alpha 100 review

Sony Alpha 100 specification

Sony Alpha 100

Sony Alpha 100 unveiled

Sony Alpha SLR

Sony DSLR

Sony Alpha A100

Sony Alpha 100 price compare



Sony Alpha 100 Reviews from camera owners


Ian Leslie - United Kingdom
November 8th 2006 - 14:30 GMT

The lack of a live LCD screen means that altering manual controls and the effects cannot be judged until the picture is stored. This is a very big minus of the Alpha 100 in strange exposure settings.


personal rating: 55%

RVG - United States
November 8th 2006 - 14:30 GMT

I have been using the Sony Alpha A100 for about a week and I am very impressed with the photos that I have been able to capture. I do recommend this camera for a first DSLR or as an upgrade for some other models.


personal rating: 95%

Rob Asnong - Belgium
November 8th 2006 - 14:30 GMT

I tested the Alpha 100 (about 1600 shots taken) with the standard lens and with my older Sigma 70-300 mm (with the Alpha it becomes a 105 - 450 mm lens). It's a great camera with very very nice pictures. I love the speed of focusing even with the Sigma lens. I love the DRO+ that improves the shadows with more details in low light conditions. There are a few minor things to say too. A few more information items in the viewer would be nice (a little closer to EVF; I owned a F828 and still have a H2). The pictures in normal mode have a bit of sharpness lack for me. In P mode I increase the sharpness with 2 steps which is fine then. I haven't tested the sharpness yet when printed. Overall I love this camera and Sony has done a great job.


personal rating: 95%

Guy Villeneuve - Canada
November 8th 2006 - 14:30 GMT

The Alpha 100 is the best start I have seen. The price is right nothing to touch it. I am getting curious on the next model of Sony PRO I will have both. The Karl Zeiss lenses are for a full 24X36 for sure.


personal rating: 95%

Mr Smith - Germany
November 7th 2006 - 17:00 GMT

I chose for the Sony Alpha 100 camera and not (as sooo many others) the Canon 400D because I think the upcoming Carl Zeiss Objectives are the better choice. Thank you for your attention.


personal rating: 100%

Dan Williams - United States
November 7th 2006 - 17:00 GMT

As a long-time Minolta user, I was eager to get my hands on the new Sony Alpha 100. Having purchased a Minolta 7D over a year ago, I thought it would be nice to upgrade to a 10 megapixel model. Sadly, however, I found myself disappointed in just about everything related to the A-100. It feels like a plastic toy rather than a serious piece of camera gear. Images taken were soft, noisy, and just flat looking. The auto focus was very slow in low light situations, and you just weren't left with a confident feel about how good a job the camera was doing for you. Hopefully Sony will take a close look at all of these things and score better on their second entry into this market.


personal rating: 60%

Derek Freeman - United Kingdom
November 7th 2006 - 17:00 GMT

I purchased the Sony Alpha 100 ten days ago and I have just returned it to the shop. The pictures were nowhere nearly as sharp as my Panasonic DMC-FZ30. I took around 150 test shots and each picture was soft and lacking in detail. It's a shame, as the camera sports many fine features. The camera shop thought that it was the inclusion of a budget lens Sony supplies with the kit. I would ensure that if you buy one of these you are able to test it immediately and get a refund if you are not happy with the results.


personal rating: 50%

Sjaak Janssens - The netherlands
November 3rd 2007 - 11:13 GMT

Because I shoot a lot of architectural pictures, I have chosen the Sony Alpha 100 SLR camera with separate lenses. But the 2 lenses I bought with this camera have in my opinion a lot of distortion, straight vertical lines apair very curved, horizontal lines slope to the bottom right. Also vignetting occurs in the sky, especially in the right corners. My previous camera (analog), did shoot much better pictures. Also above ISO 400, much noise occurs.


personal rating: 50%

Scalmer - The Netherlands
November 3rd 2007 - 11:13 GMT

Bought the Sony Alpha 100 SLR camera beside a Fuji Finepix and a Nikon D80. Very intuitive, sharp, good JPG imaging and fast. Made approx 3000 pics. Compared to the D80 the Sony A100 performs better in low light circumstances (imho). I also like the LCD display (no second display needed).The anti-dust and anti-shake possibilities are great! A minor is the lack of Sony lenses atm. but going for a 70-300 Sigma which I already tried. The Sony Alpha 100, like all the other camera┬┤s, needs practicing. The auto function covers a lot but not in all circumstances. Correction is easy when knowing the camera. Together: Price/Quality this camera does perform very good.


personal rating: 99%





CanonCasioFujifilmNikonOlympusHTCSamsungSonyPanasonicNokia
  Accessories Android Apps Camcorders Digital cameras Mobile phones Smartphones Software Tablets   CES CeBIT Gadgets IFA Photokina PMA