LetsGoDigital for Sale
  News Headlines Apple Canon Casio Fujifilm HTC LG Nikon Nokia Olympus Panasonic Pentax Ricoh Rollei Samsung Sony  
Lets Go Digital
 
     
Powered by True
Counted by OneStat.com




Panasonic Lumix DMC LX1 price - review rating - digital camera prices

Panasonic Lumix DMC LX1 review

Average user rating: 80%

Brand Panasonic
Type Lumix DMC LX1
Resolution 8.60 Mpixel
Maximum resolution 3840x2160 pixels
Optical zoom Yes
LCD screen size 2.5-inch
Video function Yes
Dimensions 106x56x26


Recommended related news article

Panasonic Lumix DMC LX1 specification

Panasonic Lumix DMC LX1 introduction

Panasonic Lumix LX1 | DIWA Award



Panasonic Lumix DMC LX1 Reviews from camera owners


Lim - Singapore
October 21st 2005 - 21:45 GMT

Razor sharp lens, great image colours, function, compact size, however lacks lens thread and images are somewhat noisy but it's easy to correct using noise ninja/neat image.


personal rating: 95%

Manfred - Hong Kong
October 14th 2005 - 22:00 GMT

Excellent photos from such a compact digital camera. The 16:9 aspect 28mm lens is the way of the future. Fast raw file too. Lens is very sharp, and list of features goes on & on.


personal rating: 95%

Nahid - Tanzania
November 7th 2006 - 18:00 GMT

The Panasonic Lumix DMC LX1 is beautiful, it gives high quality photos and it is easy to use. The problem with this camera is that its screen gets scratched easily. Otherwise it’s the best camera I’ve ever had and used.


personal rating: 90%

Richard Freeman - United States
May 7th 2006 - 10:50 GMT

I have read about the "noisy" sensor and the absence of a viewfinder as reasons to avoid the Lumix LX1. The "experts" are quick to criticize without knowing "how to care and feed" this point and shoot. I own the Canon EOS 5D and EOS 10D, and now the Panasonic Lumix DMC LX1. The Elmarit lens on the Lumix LX1 is, in a word, stunning. Beautifully sharp and contrasty. Yes, the absence of a viewfinder is a detriment, because holding a small camera in front of you (as opposed to supporting it against your forehead for better steadiness)can cause blurred shots. That's true for all point-and-shooters who hold their digital cameras two feet in front of their eyes with arms outstretched. If you support the camera properly, the sharp shots will take your breath away.


personal rating: 90%

David Holloway - United Kingdom
March 8th 2006 - 23:00 GMT

Have had the Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX1 for about two months. As a long time user of film cameras (35 & 6 X 4.5) I was reluctant to move to digital. Overall I am quite pleased with this camera and used the DMC LX1 in Egypt recently. There its weakness was revealed and that is 'framing' the subject. LCD screen was completely washed out in bright sunlight and framing was hit & miss. Will never purchase a camera again without a viewfinder. Image noise, I have not noticed as I use aperture or shutter priority modes. Build quality excellent but oh for a good optical viewfinder. Have not found a way of opening RAW files in Corel PhotoPaint.


personal rating: 70%

Ray - United States
March 7th 2006 - 21:00 GMT

I bought the Lumix LX1 with high hopes, great features and a Leica lens, 3 image ratios, stabilizer, 8.6 megapixels. WOW!! Sounds great. I bought one, well after using the Panasonic L1 for 2 days, I was very disappointed with the image quality of the majority of the pictures, I thought it was just my camera, but I looked online and found this is a problem with the sensor, of course I could have corrected it with software afterwards but why? I even shot manual and got better pictures. No thanks for that kind of money I can get a camera that will do all this and get the same and better quality images. I do not recommend this camera unless you want a $600 paper weight that takes so-so pictures. To bad I really like everything about the Panasonic Lumix DMC L1 except for the pictures.


personal rating: 10%

Gesa - Germany
March 17th 2006 - 21:00 GMT

The Panasonic Lumix DMC LX1 is really no camera for the beginner or the person who wants to take snapshots! The AUTO mode is only useful in bright daylight. If you want to avoid the noise you have to set ISO to 80, just the thing Soda talked about, so just read his comment on the LX 1! My photos have an excellent quality and an amazing sharpness, but better forget about AUTO the Leica lens will offer you great results! The handbook is really bad, there is no alphabetical index which makes it complicated to find what you are looking for. Canon is much better! If the AUTO mode was better, I would give the camera 100 % rating. All in all the Lumix LX1 is a high quality camera and those who disagree don't use the camera in the proper way!


personal rating: 90%

John Maitland Graves - United States
June 24th 2006 - 12:00 GMT

An optical finder would be very nice on the Lumix DMC LX1. The lens is wonderfully sharp and seems to have that "Leica" feel. No one seems to like noise. Frankly, I like it. At film speed 400 in B&W I am reminded of the "filmy" Tri-X pushed one stop tonality. At ASA 80 in RAW it is first class. Even with IS I do have to steady the camera. All in all, I am very happy with it. It is small and unobtrusive and I do not feel so much like the overweight American tourist with a huge camera tied around neck.


personal rating: 100%

Al Saah - United States
January 2nd 2006 - 22:00 GMT

I bought the Panasonic Lumix DMC LX1 camera for $550. The minute I received the camera I started testing it in all modes and features. I took about 150 pictures. None of those pictures was worth keeping they are all very grainy, very blurry and extremely high noise. At the beginning I thought that this specific camera is defective. So I asked to return the camera and sure enough they obliged and send me another one. I did the same tests with the new camera but I always came out disappointed form the quality of the pictures - again they are all grainy, blurry and with extremely high noise. After research about the rating of this camera, I found that others rated the noise as equal to disposables.


personal rating: 2%

Soda - Germany
January 29th 2006 - 15:30 GMT

I bought this camera to replace (and upgrade) the Panasonic FX7. (in my view, the FX7 is an excellent pocket camera, best-in-class). I had read the previews and reviews of the LX1, and all mentioned how noisy it was. I hesitated and waited. Then there was a review of the Leica branded version of the same camera. The results were very positive. So I decided to buy. (At that time, only the Panasonic version was available in Germany). Well like Al Saah, I also ran some test shots. They were aweful (for noise). Much worse than my previous camera the FX7. If the camera hadn't cost me so much, I would have thrown it straight out the window. But I'm pleased I didn't! The camera is truly amazing and give super quality pictures. How? Don't use AUTO. By default, the camera firmware is for "beginners" and chooses the fastest shutter speed and smallest aperture and applies the highest ISO. So all those auto shots are probably at ISO 400, 800+ etc. Go Manual and use RAW image format. Set ISO to 80. Use a tripod if necessary. And you'll be amazed. Doesn't really need Noise Ninja if it was a bright day. Use the PC to convert RAW to JPEG and you'll be very happy with the results. You won't get a better digital camera at this size/price.


personal rating: 97%

Jeff - United States
February 10th 2006 - 18:15 GMT

The Panasonic Lumix LX1 is not a camera for a photographic neophyte. As Soda stated above, if you use the camera in auto or PHD (push here dummy) mode, you will end up with extremely noisy output. Readers looking for simple point and shoot functionality with no manual capability are better served with one of the Nikon or Canon basic digicams. Optimal usage requires a solid understanding of basic photographic principles. Ninety percent of the noise is Chroma noise and easily handled as explained above. The camera's Leica lens is awesome, which when coupled with its manual control (Aperture, Shutter, and full Manual available), small size, and enormous LCD make this a hands-down winner!! This is the same camera as the Leica Dlux 2.


personal rating: 95%

Manfred - Switzerland
February 10th 2006 - 18:15 GMT

I was looking for a compact size digital camera that has to fulfill two major features: wide angle lens (28mm or even less) good picture quality in terms of resolution and color. I decided to by the Panasonic DMC L1 and yes, I also was concerned about the "noise". Since I have my Panasonic L1 I made about 2000 pictures all from bright sunlight to almost darkness. In auto mode, I admit, that the pictures I shot are useless. In program mode (my default setting of the mode dial) and ISO 80, the pictures are excellent! Even in absolute low light conditions (candle light) you almost get rid of that noise using a tripod and long shutter speed! But still, I would not recommend the DMC L1 camera to newbies and the ones who only want a simple "point and shoot camera".


personal rating: 85%

Joao Paulo Conrado - Brazil
August 29th 2005 - 16:10 GMT

Superb quality photos! OIS is very useful. Light and practical, large LCD with high def is a must!


personal rating: 100%

Neil Miller - United Kingdom
April 22nd 2006 - 23:00 GMT

I find the Panasonic LX1 a fantastic digital camera - if you know what you are doing. Set to RAW and ISO 80 it turns out sharp, non-grainy pictures that need no noise-reduction software. The Lumix DMC LX1 is not a snap-shot camera, for sure - you need some sound knowledge of photography to get the best out of this camera, but I guess that's true of any camera! Spending a lot of money on a camera doesn't make it take better pictures! The Panasonic LX1 digital camera has features only found on some pro-models, so I think that it is a real bargain, and a good-looker too.


personal rating: 95%





CanonCasioFujifilmNikonOlympusHTCSamsungSonyPanasonicNokia
  Accessories Android Apps Camcorders Digital cameras Mobile phones Smartphones Software Tablets   CES CeBIT Gadgets IFA Photokina PMA