News Headlines Apple Canon Casio Fujifilm HTC LG Nikon Nokia Olympus Panasonic Pentax Ricoh Rollei Samsung Sony  
Lets Go Digital
 
     
Powered by True
Counted by OneStat.com




Panasonic Lumix DMC FZ30 price - review rating - digital camera prices

Panasonic Lumix DMC FZ30 review

Average user rating: 96%

Brand Panasonic
Type Lumix DMC FZ30
Resolution 8.30 Mpixel
Maximum resolution 3264x2448 pixels
Optical zoom Yes
LCD screen size 2-inch
Video function Yes
Dimensions 141x86x138


Recommended related news article

Panasonic Lumix DMC FZ30 specification

Panasonic Lumix DMC FZ30 preview

Panasonic Lumix DMC FZ30 introduction

Panasonic Lumix DMC FZ30 optical stabilizer

Panasonic DMC FZ30 Gold DIWA Award

Panasonic Lumix FZ50 price compare



Panasonic Lumix DMC FZ30 Reviews from camera owners


Senthivel - Singapore
September 27th 2005 - 20:55 GMT

This camera would have been the best camera of the year with all features, if noise problem would have been better taken care of during the design. Even at 100 ISO you can see visible noise. Probably, Panasonic can change from CCD to a large size CMOS sensor to overcome problems like this for future models, maybe the Panasonic FZ-40 with 10 MP?!


personal rating: 80%

Abdul Noushad - India
September 19th 2005 - 20:00 GMT

This is one among the best compact digital cameras on the market. The main advantage of this camera is the macro focus range, if we directly compare it with the available DSLR camera line on the market. There are always options to go for. One great thing improved in this model and that's the LCD design, which a person like me find very difficult using ad on lens, I say if I attach 360 degree lens from Egg Solution. This gives a greater view and options to have a good panoramic view from LCD, which I found very difficult to handle in models like FZ20, FZ15, FZ10 etc. Finally it also has hot shoe and a great 8 mega res! In short it’s a terrific product for professionals too.


personal rating: 100%

Jan Genemans - United States
October 3rd 2005 - 21:15 GMT

Nearly perfect in every aspect except one - NOISE. This can be corrected by processing the RAW images, however, that defeats the camera's speed in bracketing, or rapid shots. It also reduces the number of photos taken as well by using a lossless compression for their RAW at 16MB per photo. Best features are manual zoom on lens, and high speed photos & focus on a super zoom camera.


personal rating: 90%

Paul Conrad - United States
October 30th 2005 - 04:10 GMT

This camera feels and handles like an SLR. The FZ30 feels very solid and the location of controls is excellent. There is even room at the left rear for your thumb without laying on the LCD. I have shot a lot of test frames over a six week period and have not found noise to be a problem. But, I don't do much night work. I have found the extended zoom (15X@5MP) good, but magnification is not matched to zoom ring except at 8MP. Even dig zoom is satisfactory with the Lumix FZ30. I have had some focus problems, but I think that's an operator error.


personal rating: 90%

Jan Wilt - United States
October 21st 2005 - 21:15 GMT

I have used my Panasonic Lumix FZ30 for about 3 weeks, I keep hearing about noise but at the low levels 80 or 100, I see no noise at all, even at 400 it is not as bad as some more expensive SLR's I have seen. A friend of mine owns a Canon Pro Rebel and we did some test shots, the DMC FZ30 kept pace at every ISO setting, his had actually more noise than the Lumix FZ30 specially at ISO 400 still neither were that bad that cannot be cleaned up with Photoshop CS and if you take it to the RAW mode CS is great and the pictures come out near perfect. For the price, I paid only $545 for mine he paid over $1000. It may not be a perfect camera but it is near that for the price. I love the FZ30 digital camera and for this price it just cannot be beat.


personal rating: 100%

Mike King - United Kingdom
November 7th 2006 - 17:00 GMT

The Panasonic Lumix DMC FZ30 is excellent...Almost every feature is outstanding. What is this noise problem? It is supposed to be like film grain experienced on high ASA 35mm film, but my FZ30 EBS version is fantastic. 10" X 8" and A4 prints from well cropped images are excellent…no noise. I think some reviews are from competitors of Panasonic....This camera just needs to be set up correctly, a little experimentation, and some practice. You will be as amazed as I was. The only bad thing is that in front of the lens the hood slightly clips the light from the flash. I carefully cut the top section off. You can by a screw fit round hood that is ok.


personal rating: 100%

Tim Smith - United States
November 3rd 2007 - 11:13 GMT

Simply this. I have been lured away to the Nikon D200. Now, with that said, having never owned a digital Nikon, and after having used my Panasonic Lumix FZ30 for almost a year... and after reading all the reviews here and... saying yeah, that’s right, uh, yes, that's true it really is a great camera, I'm thinking why did I agree to sell my FZ30 just to buy the Nikon 200? I'm a film guy and will be for a while longer (until the Dinosaur slayers catch up to me) until I have to "convert" because film well be found only in the museums. Anyway, have fun Denise (the new owner) you got a GREAT camera at a GREAT price as I will be spending many hundreds more for Lumix FZ30's replacement...damn : I'm giving the DMC-FZ30 only a 97% rating because I still have to manually switch it on!!!


personal rating: 97%

Buddy Melancon - United States
November 10th 2005 - 21:20 GMT

Great digital camera! Excellent lens and love the very mobile view screen usually seen only on camcorders. When using the eyeview (as W/35mm film cameras) the screen can be turned inward and protected for added protection when not in use. Also, what I have learned is that the Lumix FZ-30 put the fun back into taking pictures because I can use it like a digital automatic or a 35mm manual control with manual focus, zoom, aperture, and shutter speed. That is a blast! I've actually taken better pictures W/manual than automatic on some occasions. Again, I love the Panasonic Lumix FZ-30 camera! Very user friendly with professional quality.


personal rating: 95%

Lungu Ionut - Romania
May 6th 2006 - 09:00 GMT

I have the Lumix DMC FZ 30 for about three weeks and for me, this Panasonic camera is an amazing digital camera. I work with the EOS 300d, Canon S2 IS, but the Lumix FZ30 is more powerful. One single word to say: Amazing!


personal rating: 100%

Daniel Abraham - Canada
March 8th 2006 - 23:00 GMT

I am by no means a pro, I am someone who has owned one digital camera, gained an interest, and wanted a step-up to a DSLR. The Panasonic Lumix DMC FZ-30 is that and more. The ergonomics are great, and all of the options that the camera has are easily adjustable and accessible. This camera is very fast, and so far I have found the results to be very pleasing. The Lumix FZ30 is providing me with an enjoyable learning tool, one that I will most likely keep using for many years. The tremendous zoom is so much fun! and the OIS is very effective. Noise... well, maybe indoors under poor lighting, where high ISO is used, but I personally prefer shooting outdoors so hat's off to Panasonic, great digital camera!


personal rating: 100%

Ronald Lowry - United States
March 17th 2006 - 21:00 GMT

The Panasonic Lumix DMC FZ30 is an excellent general purpose camera producing sharp images with good color under a broad range of lighting conditions. Fast f2.8, image stabilizing, 35mm - 420mm range and a magnified focusing screen provide exceptional advantages. It is becoming my favourite choice over several Nikons as a camera for travel imaging. I have resolved image storage by using a 30 gigabyte battery powered hard drive.


personal rating: 95%

Ramin Zandieh - Iran
June 24th 2006 - 12:00 GMT

The Lumix DMC FZ30 is the best digital camera compared to other cameras in this price range and its totally great no matter if you're an amateur or pro. I enjoyed using marco mode and I took high sharp and real colors with it. I recommend it to all photographers who love to make some different photographs.


personal rating: 100%

Gilbert - Spain
January 2nd 2006 - 22:00 GMT

The Panasonic Lumix FZ30 is just a great camera. The noise problem is exaggerated, because you can take great pix with ISO 100 and the OIS stabilizer. Please no large CMOS sensor, because then we'll get something like the new Sony with minimized zoom, and the effect of D-SLR's where its hard to focus sharp from back to front. Just improve the sensor, like Fuji did for example. (though the rest of the Fuji S9500 is not so great - no OIS) Rest is great. Lumix is the best camera, still on the market!


personal rating: 95%

Chris Chan - Canada
December 5th 2005 - 20:45 GMT

I purchased my Panasonic FZ30 for over four weeks, I did a lot of test photos, and I made a comparision with the Cannon EOS350 Digial Rebel which my friend has, I found no big difference. The colour is even better. People always concern about the noise problem, but one thing we need to consider is we seldom use 400 ISO, actually, even when we took night photo, we can still use ISO 100 or under, then what is the problem. In the past when we took photos with the film camera, we use ISO 100 in order to have best result. Also, I trust ecia lens is one of the best in the world. Lastly, when you compare the price & quality and the super zoom of Lumix FZ30 with other, then you know which s the best.


personal rating: 100%





CanonCasioFujifilmNikonOlympusHTCSamsungSonyPanasonicNokia
  Accessories Android Apps Camcorders Digital cameras Mobile phones Smartphones Software Tablets   CES CeBIT Gadgets IFA Photokina PMA