News Headlines Apple Canon Casio Fujifilm HTC LG Nikon Nokia Olympus Panasonic Pentax Ricoh Rollei Samsung Sony  
Lets Go Digital
 
     
Powered by True
Counted by OneStat.com




Olympus SP 700 price - review rating - digital camera prices

Olympus SP 700 review

Average user rating: 87%

Brand Olympus
Type SP 700
Resolution 6.18 Mpixel
Maximum resolution 2816x2112 pixels
Optical zoom Yes
LCD screen size 3-inch
Video function Yes
Dimensions 97.5x56.5x24.5


Recommended related news article

Olympus SP 700 specification

Olympus SP-700 introduction



Olympus SP 700 Reviews from camera owners


Lisa F - United States
May 6th 2006 - 09:00 GMT

Used the light weighted Olympus SP 700 digital camera on 2 trips. After the 1st charging, it lasted only 11 hours - I had to switch to another camera for my trip. The subsequent days, I found it lasted longer, but I took fewer shots. I tried just about all the features except underwater and all worked well. The museum setting was useful in low-light conditions in any building. The document setting worked well for signs but not objects under glass in a museum. You have to practice holding the camera still once you depress the shutter, to avoid blurriness. I found to squeeze and hold was the best technique to reduce blurriness. Slow shutter, so not good for taking action shots. Suggest U buy extra battery to have ready if you're a shutter bug. Great quick view and dump!


personal rating: 95%

Arthur Bode - United States
March 7th 2006 - 21:00 GMT

We had been waiting for the Canon 450 to get back in stock, but when we arrived in Maui and stopped at Costco for supplies we bought the Olympus SP-700 and a 512mp picture card. Total amount: $339.99 + $44.99. What a delightful package of photo engineering it is. Small, quick, sharp, and after some learning curve, it is easy to use. The 3" LCD is great in most situations, only a little difficult to see in the brightest sun. There are four image quality settings. The 512mb card gives the ability to take 329 images at the highest resolution, 499, 798, and 1879 images in the basic mode. Battery charging seems quick, 1.5 hr for full charge. The time lapse from turn on to picture taking is very quick. You gotta try the SP700 yourself.


personal rating: 92%

Brad C. - United States
March 7th 2006 - 21:00 GMT

The Olympus SP 700 is my 3rd Olympus and the best yet! Easy to use, quick response. Very stylish. Very impressed with the water proof case. 24 preset settings covers all situations. I think Pap Zoltan must work for a competitor because everything he said was untrue. You'll love this camera.


personal rating: 95%

Roy Dumlao - United States
June 10th 2006 - 02:00 GMT

I found this gem at Costco. I have been looking for a nice pocket camera for sometime. It takes nice pictures in the hands of a novice photographer. It takes great pictures in the hands of a more experience photographer. I recommend the Olympus SP700 very highly. Simple to use. Turn it on and snap away. The only thing I didn't like was the USB cord is not standard and the media card is not standard for many media card readers. You need to use the cord and camera to download in most cases.


personal rating: 92%

Pat - United States
July 31st 2006 - 16:00 GMT

I love the 3" screen - it's a must. I do not like the complicated downloading to my PC and do not like the cords for downloading and battery charging - a small docking would be better for travel to charge the battery. I bought the Olympus SP 700 mainly because of the 3" screen and size for travel.


personal rating: 90%

Marty P. - United States
July 16th 2006 - 02:00 GMT

This is a great little cam. We will take the Olympus SP700 digital camera with us on a trip to Walt Disney World and a cruise. I have used every mode on this camera, even underwater in an aqua pack. I did pick up a few extra batteries that you can find on the net for under $1. The only wish I have is they update the software to let you choose the compression.


personal rating: 95%

Alvin Lim - Malaysia
February 10th 2006 - 18:15 GMT

I find the Olympus SP700 simply fantastic! User-friendly, and a good buy for a first-time buyer like me. Very fast start-up and shutdown. Don't have anything to complain for now. But indeed, the menu function lacks attitude. But anyway, it Rocks!


personal rating: 90%

Steve Tracy - Japan
February 10th 2006 - 18:15 GMT

It sounds like Pap Zoltan purchased a lemon, as the Olympus SP700 camera my wife owns is a little beauty. Images are as sharp as a tack, easy to use menu, a great 3" monitor, good battery life, etc. What more do you want from a $300 compact? Perhaps the only point I'd agree with him on is the tendency for the shutter to be a little slow at reacting, but this is shared by many compact digital models. Great value!


personal rating: 75%

Pap Zoltan - Hungary
December 9th 2005 - 22:20 GMT

This is my first Olympus Digicam. I am very disappointed about its menu. It is ugly and difficult and very few setting is possible. You can not even set the resolution and the compression separately (The best quality is 650 pic/1G, this is poor). I suggest everybody to check the menu and compare this with other manufacturers before buying this, or another Olympus! The SP 700 is also too slow. If you push the exposition button, you usually have to wait about 1 second to take the picture (slow AF and processing). You will miss the moments!


personal rating: 20%

Gargamels Protege - United States
April 5th 2006 - 11:00 GMT

I don't know what else to say but.. Ridiculous. I spent almost 5-6 hours reviewing cameras on the net. I ended up at Costco to look at a Kodak and saw this beautiful piece of machinery. They must have made different models for Hungary or something or Pap is just bitter. The Olympus SP 700 digital camera is awesome and I recommend it to anyone looking for a great camera with a lovely LCD screen. This Olympus camera is very easy to use and the image quality is superb!


personal rating: 97%

Sylvia - United States
April 22nd 2006 - 23:00 GMT

I am a young granny, but my eyes aren't what they used to be, so I have been looking for a camera I can see to focus. I purchased the Olympus SP 700 digital camera mainly because of its 3 inch LCD screen. I was also impressed with it having 6 Megapixels and being this compact. I am just learning to use it, but in studying the instruction manual, the capabilities of this little digital camera are amazing! It has taken wonderful pictures, and I have put them on my PC. I plan to purchase that CD burner to put my pictures on CD's, but have to learn one thing at a time! I am very impressed with the Olympus Sp700 camera so far and feel it is a great product for the money!


personal rating: 99%

Steve Wadlan - United Kingdom
April 22nd 2006 - 23:00 GMT

I have had my Olympus SP700 about two weeks now. I have found this to be a fantastic point and shoot camera, it has a huge set of scene modes that cover just about any situation. The 1cm Macro is just awesome! A great camera to carry anywhere. Nice results every time. The 3inch screen is a joy. I have looked at many reviews on different cameras, but felt this was very good value. I have other bigger cameras if I require manual settings and longer zooms, so for me this was a great camera to use as a back up or just to slip in my pocket. Colours are good, plus there is a good range of in camera editing that can be done. This camera was worth the money just for the 1cm Macro, it is great! The Olympus SP 700 is a great little camera, lots of fun!


personal rating: 98%





CanonCasioFujifilmNikonOlympusHTCSamsungSonyPanasonicNokia
  Accessories Android Apps Camcorders Digital cameras Mobile phones Smartphones Software Tablets   CES CeBIT Gadgets IFA Photokina PMA