News Headlines Apple Canon Casio Fujifilm HTC LG Nikon Nokia Olympus Panasonic Pentax Ricoh Rollei Samsung Sony  
Lets Go Digital
 
     
Powered by True
Counted by OneStat.com




Fujifilm FinePix E550 price - review rating - digital camera prices

Fujifilm FinePix E550 review

Average user rating: 57%

Brand Fujifilm
Type FinePix E550
Resolution 6.63 Mpixel
Maximum resolution 4048x3040 pixels
Optical zoom Yes
LCD screen size 2-inch
Video function Yes
Dimensions 105x63x34


Recommended related news article

Fujifilm FinePix E550 review

Fujifilm FinePix E550 specification

Fujifilm FinePix E550 introduction



Fujifilm FinePix E550 Reviews from camera owners


Steve Peaple - Australia
October 9th 2005 - 12:40 GMT

More than happy with the overall performance. Addition of the optional Fujinon lenses (you also need the adaptor) add an extra edge to the Fujiflm E550. Simple and quick to fit and use. The size of the wide angle when fitted ensures you can only view through the LCD, which isn't ideal in bright conditions, but more than bearable. Would recommend the excellent wide angle, but rarely use the zoom. Fuji's SuperCCD technology delivers on the hype. Have used shots (on 6MB setting, with one higher setting still available) as full size A4 in magazines with no discernable loss. Having replaceable AA batteries is invaluable in remote locations where re-charging is not an option. A very good, lightweight, compact, point-and-shoot camera with extra lenses.


personal rating: 85%

Bill - Canada
November 8th 2006 - 14:30 GMT

This is my fourth digital camera and its by far the finest to work with. I have had high end Nikon, Pentax, Olympus and Hewlett Packard digital cameras. The Fuji FinePix E550 performs perfectly. The camera is used for professional pictures at golf tournaments and the results are amazing. My next camera - of course the FinePix E900. Easy to use and fast to snap on the fly. Good results and good colour.


personal rating: 90%

Alfred E. Borm - United States
May 28th 2006 - 15:00 GMT

The Fujifilm FinePix E550 is a very nice camera when it works. But judging by these reviews it has a design failing: the zoom lens jams. Mine jammed after 9 months and was repaired under warranty. That was six months ago and now it's jammed again and out of warranty. Useless to repair it since the problem seems to be inherent and will surely recur. A lot of money down the drain.


personal rating: 20%

Derrick - United States
March 7th 2006 - 21:00 GMT

I find the Fuji FinePix E550 a horrible digital camera. If I use any other setting than 03m I get horizontal lines through "ALL" of my pictures. Not only I have used every setting on the camera, turned the ISO all the way down, turned the light compensation down, and messed with all the settings in the menu, still there is way to much light exposure. Terrible glare, and if I can actually see what I a shooting at, the sky is completely white, glaring out the focus of the picture. Over all waste of money. Glad I can get my money back...


personal rating: 1%

Carole - United States
March 17th 2006 - 22:00 GMT

I'm on my second FinePix 550. The first one was never right. Inside images were distorted, with lines and screen-like artifacts, and outside images came out completely white. I've send the Finepix E550 camera back to the Fuji repair facility. It took 3 months before they sent me a new one. The lens jammed in the extended position when the camera was turned off, about a day after the one year warranty was up. Fuji did fix the lens error, but again, repair took a long time. I'm afraid to use my Fuji E550 now. Also, this camera seems to suck electricity, with very poor battery life, chargeable or rechargeable. Knowing what I do now, even though this camera supposedly has a lot of nice features, I would not recommend it to anyone! Good luck in getting it fixed…


personal rating: 25%

Jamie - United Kingdom
June 24th 2006 - 12:00 GMT

I bought my Fuji FinePix E550 digital compact camera in August 2005, and since then have had no trouble at all with it. 100% reliable. Picture quality is fantastic, really! My only grip with it being that it has a pathetic AF system, which works fine in good light and in macro mode, but when you zoom in, or are in low light/night scenes then it's useless... the slowest shutter speed of 3" isn't slow enough... also, the Continuous shooting mode is pretty shocking as well... only ever allowing four shots to be taken, and it still takes it's time, even with an empty 512mb Fuji XD within. Within a year I have grown out of it, and have just ordered a Nikon D50 :D which I cant wait to use... E550 is worth the nod over Canon!


personal rating: 90%

Robert Walker - United States
June 10th 2006 - 02:00 GMT

Very good Point & Shoot camera. I have no complaints about this camera. Have had no problems mention in other reviews. Good camera for the money. Next one will be the Fiji S9000.


personal rating: 95%

Sara - United Kingdom
June 10th 2006 - 02:00 GMT

I have not been happy with my FinePix E550 camera at all. The only modes I am able to get clear pictures in are in video and in manual close-up, and even then it's hit or miss. The "auto" feature is worthless. The pictures taken in Auto are really horrible. I contacted Fuji and they said they would calibrate it via email somehow but they never followed up on it. I'm going to cut my losses and get a new camera. I was absolutely thrilled with my Olympus D40 zoom and as old as it is, I think I'd rather get another of those on e-bay, used, than to endure this bleepbleep. I've even taken to phone camera shots that aren't good to avoid using our Fujifilm FinePix E550.


personal rating: 10%

Jojo - Philippines
January 2nd 2006 - 22:00 GMT

The FinePix E550 camera is terrible. It jams. When I bought it, I had to return it almost immediately because it jammed. The distributor twisted the lens and then it became ok. Then it jammed again. Then lens was twisted again and fine again. Then the pics had a distorted image and finally I was informed it was a defect in the lens. It was replaced without charge (and the technician was apologetic) then now it jammed again...


personal rating: %

Alton Krantz - Canada
February 10th 2006 - 18:15 GMT

I purchased the Fuji FinePix E550 because of the feature to shoot night shots. I have been very impressed with shots I was able to take of the northern lights, They came out very detailed at the 3 sec delay. The standard wide angle shots along with the 4X zoom have given me all that I was looking for in a camera. I have printed some 8x10 pictures of very colorfull and detailed scenery and they have turned out just as good as ones I have had printed by professionals from my 35mm camera. Battery life is very good and the only negative thing is LCD screen in bright days and low light. I can shade the LCD with my hand in bright light and it is acceptable but I have to use the view finder in very low light conditions(that's almost dark).


personal rating: 90%

Robert W Moore - United States
December 5th 2005 - 20:45 GMT

I've owned the Finepix E550 for over a year and would classify myself as a casual user plus. Very satisfied with the quality of color and resolution. I am particularly pleased with the lack of distortion which was all too prevalent in my former Camedia. I suspect that the improvement is partially due to the greater megapixels and partially to a better lens. My only hesitation before I bought it was a complaint about the lens shooting out when the camera is turned on. Talked to a camera pro who said this should not be a problem with minimal care. No problem so far and I might mention that I've seen pictures taken with far more expensive cameras that just cannot compare with the fidelity of the product.


personal rating: 90%

James Bruner - United States
December 5th 2005 - 20:45 GMT

Great Camera when I first got it - 3 months later. Now getting horizontal lines throughout all of my photos and cannot clean them through Photoshop. Pictures look ok on camera LCD, but when you transfer to the computer, that's where the lines show up. I read other users of this camera experiencing the same issue. Now going to try to get a replacement or my money back from FujiFilm.


personal rating: 50%

Ger Vervoort - The Netherlands
August 30th 2005 - 03:30 GMT

Fine camera, good results and excellent handling. Easy to use. Flash manually activated, which means no unintended flash photos, which I personally like. Good battery life. Camera however tends to emphasize colours red and yellow. The visibility of the lcd-screen decreases too much in sunny circumstances. Overall very good camera and worth its price.


personal rating: 80%

Chris Doerschlag - United States
April 8th 2006 - 22:45 GMT

Purchased the Fuji E550 upon recommendations from the dealer. Worked OK for about 6 months then it refused to record images. Took 6 weeks for repairs. Now, after 6 more months the same problem. Totally disgusted with the E550 camera and the Fujifilm service. For that price I could have purchased a "ral" camera.


personal rating: 10%





CanonCasioFujifilmNikonOlympusHTCSamsungSonyPanasonicNokia
  Accessories Android Apps Camcorders Digital cameras Mobile phones Smartphones Software Tablets   CES CeBIT Gadgets IFA Photokina PMA