News Headlines Apple Canon Casio Fujifilm HTC LG Nikon Nokia Olympus Panasonic Pentax Ricoh Rollei Samsung Sony  
Lets Go Digital
 
     
Powered by True
Counted by OneStat.com




Canon Powershot S2 IS price - review rating - digital camera prices

Canon Powershot S2 IS review

Average user rating: 85%

Brand Canon
Type Powershot S2 IS
Resolution 5.30 Mpixel
Maximum resolution 2592x1944 pixels
Optical zoom Yes
LCD screen size 1.8-inch
Video function Yes
Dimensions 113x78x75.5


Recommended related news article

Canon Powershot S2 IS review

Canon Powershot S2 IS specification

Canon Powershot S2 IS introduction



Canon Powershot S2 IS Reviews from camera owners


Adriano Maganini - Brazil
September 3rd 2005 - 01:15 GMT

Up to now, a great digital camera (my first one, after some 35mm SLR), for a reasonable price. Full of resources - several adjust settings, a 'digital-optical' viewfinder and a LCD that you can move (ok...it´s just 1.8"). Ohh....the big zoom lenses and the stabilization system really works. I suggest to use a fast SD memory card (I´ve bought a 1 Gb Sandisk Ultra II) to write images fast and 2500 mah AA batteries (I´ve bought a 4 batteries pack from Sony, with a fast 15 minutes charger). As I usually take pictures using the viewfinder (like a reflex camera) I save the battery power. I know it will take time to learn everything about this camera... the manual has 187 pages!


personal rating: 100%

Mario Quiroz Treguer - Chille
September 18th 2005 - 23:00 GMT

I have my S2 for a month and I'm completely glad and satisfied, I choose this camera due to its 12X megazoom, because I use to shoot photos of birds, mainly peregine falcons. I was evaluating also the Panasonic FZ5 12X megazoom digital camera mainly by its lightness (290 gr) and Leica lens, but in my country, Chile, I found a U$180.00 price difference. So I decided Canon , I think it's a great package.


personal rating: 90%

Werner Wattenbergh - Belgium
October 3rd 2005 - 21:20 GMT

Having a Canon Powershot A70 first, it was logical for me to stay with Canon. It's still to early and to expensive for a DSLR so I decided to go for the Canon S2 IS. I made more than 1000 images in a couple of weeks and am still learning the ins and outs of this fantastic digital camera. 2 negative points though: noise on high ISO and slow viewfinder. All in all: great camera.


personal rating: 95%

Brian Driscoll - Canada
October 25th 2005 - 22:10 GMT

A well-featured digital camera with some negatives that any prospective buyer must consider. The Canon S2 IS has a small LCD that is unusable on a bright day. This would be okay, except the viewfinder is not much better. Try it outdoors before buying. A decent eyecup would help but is not available. The video is in JPEG format rather than MPEG, which severely limits the amount of video that can be taken, even on a 1 gig SD card. The Powershot S2 IS features no provision for emailing photos in a small format. The menu button is positioned where it can and will frequently be pressed inadvertently while handling the camera. Apart from these negatives, I like the camera's handling and capabilities.


personal rating: 80%

Clyde - United States
November 7th 2006 - 18:00 GMT

The Canon Powershot S2 IS is an excellent camera. It only has two problems. I have had the camera since March of 2006, but the electronic view finder is practically useless in bright sun. The LCD is even worse and unusable in bright sun. Canon Technical says they sent it in for repair. I know of three other people who have the same problem.


personal rating: 50%

Chryst - United States
November 7th 2006 - 18:00 GMT

I love my Canon Powershot S2 IS. It is a great camera, especially the 12x zoom, but when I noticed early on that all of my shots had a blurry portion in about 1/4 of each photo, I returned the camera to Canon. After 2 months, they sent the camera back to me saying everything was normal. Hmmmm. Here, I know something is wrong: if blurry photos are normal, then I'm unimpressed with the camera's optics. However, I'm leaning toward the more likely problem: poor customer service. It appears they didn't care to take the time to fix the problem. I’m not impressed. Next time, I'll spend my money on a Nikon.


personal rating: 50%

Joerg Haas - Germany
November 7th 2006 - 17:00 GMT

I’ve had the Canon Powershot S2 IS for over a year now. I’ve taken many great images with it. The only major complaint is that the video format which takes way too much space on the memory card. The images are sometimes slightly noisy at low light (but not unusual for this class of camera). And there are some clippings of the highlights (also not unusual for this class). All in all: excellent value.


personal rating: 90%

Stephen Barnett - Australia
March 8th 2006 - 23:00 GMT

A classy piece of glass and plastic. A friend of mine has a Canon Powershot S2 IS, and when I saw one cheap secondhand I grabbed it. I also have a Fuji 602 and a Canon EOS D30 digital, but its the compact size, the image stabilization and especially the 12x optical zoom that make this a great shooter. I would highly recommend the Powershot S2 IS digital camera. Like the Fuji 602, it has an electronic viewfinder that I don't really like but it would be the only complaint. I have bough an after- market 58mm lens adapter from Hong Kong which I would recommendd as it allows for filters etc to be added.Also this matches the silver colour of the camera whereas the genuine Canon equivalent (LAH-DC20) is more expensive and comes only in black.


personal rating: 95%

Mark McDowell - South Korea
March 8th 2006 - 23:00 GMT

This is almost the perfect digital camera. The Canon Powershot S2 IS just has one glaring shortcoming however: It produces .avi videos rather than MPEG. This really eats up memory fast. Big, disappointment here. On the good side, it has great sound quality, with excellent bass response. It also zooms while making movies, which some cameras such as the Sony DSC H1 can't do. I can't help wondering if camera manufactures intentionally leave off one important feature just to drive people crazy? The Canon doesn't use MPEG and the Sony H1 doesn't zoom while making movies. These are obvious features that just anyone would want...


personal rating: 85%

Joerg Haas - Germany
January 29th 2006 - 15:30 GMT

The Powershot S2 IS is very good value for a reasonable price. Excellent lens, incredible zoom and macro capabilities. Still it can't match a digital SLR, I compared shots that a friend did with a Nikon SLR to my shots with the S2. Also, the movie mode is excellent but should be improved and use MPEG or another compressed mode.


personal rating: 95%

Kaye Moore - Australia
January 21st 2006 - 03:30 GMT

I have had my Powershot S2 IS digital camera for 3 months and as a novice I have found it very easy to use. I started with just using auto and learnt everything else as I required it. I am sure I still have lots to learn, my first video was so easy and the quality was great. Just push a button no fiddling to change to different mode.


personal rating: 100%

Chris Row - Canada
January 21st 2006 - 03:30 GMT

I have not noticed it in many user reviews of the S2 IS, maybe 3 or 4 out of the ones reviewed, but the viewfinder is the worst feature of this camera. In bright sunlight the viewfinder is very dark and you need to cup your hand over the viewfinder to be able to see what you are trying to focus on. I also find that the menu button is poorly placed as I often hit it unintentionally. Overall I like the camera and its full array of features which surpass the competitions superzooms, i.e. Pansonic FZ5, Sony DSC-HI etc. Features such as swivel LCD, AA batteries (wouldn't buy any other type) and such a high quality stereo video as well as a generic form of flash card as opposed to memory sticks. I would rate the Camera 100% except for the viewfinder problem.


personal rating: 85%





CanonCasioFujifilmNikonOlympusHTCSamsungSonyPanasonicNokia
  Accessories Android Apps Camcorders Digital cameras Mobile phones Smartphones Software Tablets   CES CeBIT Gadgets IFA Photokina PMA