News Headlines Apple Canon Casio Fujifilm HTC LG Nikon Nokia Olympus Panasonic Pentax Ricoh Rollei Samsung Sony  
Lets Go Digital
 
     
Powered by True
Counted by OneStat.com




Canon Powershot A700 price - review rating - digital camera prices

Canon Powershot A700 review

Average user rating: 83%

Brand Canon
Type Powershot A700
Resolution 6.00 Mpixel
Maximum resolution 2816x2112 pixels
Optical zoom Yes
LCD screen size 2.5
Video function Yes
Dimensions 95x66x43


Recommended related news article

Canon Powershot A700 review

Canon Powershot A700 specification

Canon Powershot A700

Canon PowerShot A700 price compare



Canon Powershot A700 Reviews from camera owners


Eric Blunt - Canada
November 7th 2006 - 18:00 GMT

The Canon Powershot A700 is my first digital camera - it’s an upgrade from my tried and true Olympus Zoom film camera. I’m very impressed by the multitude of features. It took excellent pictures during a choir trip to the U.K. The shake warning seems too sensitive and the optical viewfinder takes getting used to. The LCD is poor in bright sunlight. The panorama shots are a delight, due to a portion of the previous shot being displayed on the LCD. I strongly recommend using Ni-MH batteries in this camera. This camera will have you taking very good to excellent pictures in a very short time, but it will take you a good 6 months at least to master all it can do!


personal rating: 93%

Jerry - United States
November 7th 2006 - 18:00 GMT

The Canon Powershot A700 is easy to use, and the picture quality is good. However, a couple of things keep it from being a great camera… I have to turn off the flash on start up and when changing settings. I get better color without the flash outdoors. In bright sunlight (boating situation), the LCD screen is useless and the viewfinder is off by too much. In low light situations the digital zoom pictures are not sharp, often times they are even blurry…even in good light. I purchased the camera when it first arrived in June.. three months later Canon has released the A710 with image stabiliser and more mega… three months… is something wrong with this picture… cameras became obsolete every couple of years not every couple of months.


personal rating: 70%

Ken - Canada
May 23rd 2006 - 21:00 GMT

The Canon PowerShot A700 is my first digital camera, because any other cameras I own are film SLR (Canon) and nothing has peaked my interest like the PowerShot A700. It takes great pictures and videos, the macro is incredible, uses AA batteries, has very little shutter lag and is just an all round good camera. The only negative I have found is it doesn't have the folding screen, but its a small price to pay for such a good Canon digital camera.


personal rating: 95%

Alexander - United States
June 10th 2006 - 02:00 GMT

The Fujifilm S900 is a fine camera with very good high ISO capabilities, resolution, color rendition. The lens is bit slow, as well as the card handling, but in other aspects it is perfect.


personal rating: 80%

Mike - United States
June 10th 2006 - 02:00 GMT

Great camera, bought it as a backup for my Rebel XT. I travel a lot so I get tired of lugging the SLR around sometimes. The Canon PowerShot A700 is a fantastic camera, it does just about everything you want it to do. Performance is quick, results are great... There are only two negatives, the flash recycle time is about 5 seconds plus, way too long, and the camera does clip highlights a lot. I learned to underexpose a little bit if I need to make sure a bright part of the picture needs to be fully visible. All in all great camera, if it wasn't for the flash recycle time and the clipping, and if it had IS, this would be the perfect camera.


personal rating: 90%

Brad - Canada
July 31st 2006 - 16:00 GMT

I just bought the PowerShot A700 and love it so far. I dropped it 6 feet onto a concrete floor and it never harmed the camera. 6x optical zoom verses camera size is why I bought this Canon digital camera!


personal rating: 90%

Shaun - United Kingdom
July 23rd 2006 - 10:30 GMT

Amazing camera, I bought the Canon A700 as an upgrade from my 3.2 MP Polaroid. The zoom is impressive. In fact everything about it is impressive apart from the memory included (16MB) which allows you to store around 10 photos. I got the camera for a brilliant £195 which meant that I could get a 1GB 20MB/s SanDisk with my change. The macro mode is simply superb, and the auto focus is like no other, it is as though the camera is thinking exactly the same as you are! Lots of manual options and various priorities makes the camera stand out from its rivals. And this camera is astonishingly easy to use, buttons and menus are clear and easy to navigate through. Very good value.


personal rating: 95%

Jim Spickard - United States
July 16th 2006 - 02:00 GMT

The Canon Powershot A700 is a fine camera, in everything except build quality. Like many of the early Canon point-and-shoots, its zoom lens attracts grit. The seals don't seal out anything. I'd only had it a week, but had to return it for non-warranty repair. Canon excludes grit as "misuse". It think it's a design flaw. Other than that, I appreciate the color, the ease of use, the big screen and exposure-compensation button, etc. But I can't recommend buying one until Canon fixes the problem with seals.


personal rating: 40%

Bob Adler - United States
April 5th 2006 - 11:00 GMT

I have owned the Canon Powershot A700 camera for 3 weeks now and am enjoying it very much. Pros:+ aperture and shutter speed priority modes, small, uses AA batteries, 6X optical zoom, flash output adjustable, good LCD (viewable from large angle of view), optical viewfinder, usable high ISO (800), easy buttons/menus, manual focus for macro, auto lens retract/cover, lens adapter add-on for filters / wideangle / telephoto attachments Cons: - no image stablization, no RAW, close focus in low light is picky. All in all a wonderful value. I highly recommend the Canon A700 digital camera.


personal rating: 93%





CanonCasioFujifilmNikonOlympusHTCSamsungSonyPanasonicNokia
  Accessories Android Apps Camcorders Digital cameras Mobile phones Smartphones Software Tablets   CES CeBIT Gadgets IFA Photokina PMA