News Headlines Apple Canon Casio Fujifilm HTC LG Nikon Nokia Olympus Panasonic Pentax Ricoh Rollei Samsung Sony  
Lets Go Digital
 
     
Powered by True
Counted by OneStat.com




Canon EOS 5D price - review rating - digital camera prices

Canon EOS 5D review

Average user rating: 90%

Brand Canon
Type EOS 5D
Resolution 12.80 Mpixel
Maximum resolution 4368X2912 pixels
Optical zoom n/a
LCD screen size 2.5-inch
Video function No
Dimensions 152x113x75


Recommended related news article

Canon EOS 5D review

Canon EOS 5D specification

Canon EOS 5D preview | IFA

Canon EOS 5D introduction

Canon EOS 5D supported by DxO Optics PRO V3

Canon EOS 5D | EISA Award



Canon EOS 5D Reviews from camera owners


Simon - Hong Kong
November 8th 2006 - 14:30 GMT

The Canon EOS 5D is my first DSLR ever and it is great. It has met with all my expectations of a good auto camera and then some. Gripes are little but I wish the shutter lag was a bit shorter. I also wish the multi-direction control on the back could be a tad closer to the thumb rest and easier to use. In terms of image quality I have no complaints. The images produced by this camera are sharp with film like texture and resolution. RAW images hold so much information it allows for a lot of scope for post processing. In my opinion a great camera and well worth the extra money over the Nikon D200 (which I seriously considered buying before eventually going for the EOS 5D).


personal rating: 95%

Jitendra Sheth - India
November 8th 2006 - 14:30 GMT

After using Nikon cameras for long period I recently switched on to the Canon 5D and I believe that it is a right solution for digital photography the quality of the picture and sharpness of 28 to 135mm lens is incomparable with any other camera the full frame size sensor with 12.8 mp is an outstanding expect to achieve good result.


personal rating: 95%

Arijit Das - United Arab Emirates
November 7th 2006 - 17:00 GMT

I have been using the Canon EOS 5D for the past 3 months. It responds exactly like a very good film camera and I have taken a large number of night time shots in "B" mode. The results are simply fascinating. I strongly recommend this camera to all professionals. There is one observation though....please try to use Canon lenses for the best results.


personal rating: %

Tony Brown - Canada
May 7th 2006 - 10:50 GMT

I currently own the Canon EOS 5D and the EOS 20D. Both are superb cameras. The full size sensor of the EOS 5D is the main reason why I bought it and I'm not disappointed. I use the camera mostly in 'faithful' mode with Adobe RGB as I prefer to do all my finishing in Photoshop. I found that the 'landscape' mode boosted the green and blue colours too much when shooting colourful wildlife. No doubt some people will like the choice of modes, but for me 'faithful' is enough. (I always shoot RAW.) I really like the heavy build of the body which enables me to make really sharp quick action photos with my 100-400mm 4.5/5.6f L IS USM lens. While the EOS 5D SLR camera has extras I don't use, it has everything I need. Worth every penny.


personal rating: 97%

Gary - United Kingdom
March 8th 2006 - 23:00 GMT

I bought the Canon EOS 5D as a back up to my 1Ds MkII, and a lighter alternative for travel / location use. It's all the camera you'll ever need if you're printing inkjets up to A3/11"x14". The big surprise for me was how well the EOS 5D works with the new 24-105 4.0L IS lens, I've been experimenting with this combo and DxO's software, all three work together beautifully. The Canon 5D giving that FF viewfinder experience plus A3 printing at 300dpi, the 24-105mm with Image Stabilization contributing massive versatility, and the DxO software ensuring all that potential translates into on-print quality. This is the most rewarding camera / lens marriage since I first put a 35mm Summicron on a Leica M6!


personal rating: 95%

Lee Wing Wing - Hong Kong
June 10th 2006 - 02:00 GMT

Canon 5D is my first digital camera and also my first Canon camera. I am a Nikon fan, awaiting for it full-size frame digital. The newly launched D200 and D2Xs tell me that I might have to wait for my whole life. So I have twisted to Canon! I brought the EOS 5D as a 'polaroid' camera to my Hasselbald 503CW and H2, Leica R9, and Nikon F6. The Canon EOS 5D body seems a bit 'toy-like' with too much 'plastic' feel. I work on my Canon 5D with my Leica and Carl Zeiss lens on special adapter mounts. The full-frame size sensor with 12.8M of resolution provide me with good results that I can refer to with my film camera. It is fun to work with the Canon EOS 5D with the instant monitoring and computer mages, otherwise I will continue to use my film cameras for the printouts.


personal rating: 90%

Rico - Canada
January 2nd 2006 - 22:00 GMT

First and foremost, I find the EOS 5D to be a superb imaging tool. It is fast, quiet and very well constructed. The full-frame sensor is capable of extreme resolution, but to realize it's capabilities it requires the use of the finest of lenses, not to mention competent shooting techniques. It is merciless in showing lens imperfections. (Not all Canon lenses are created equal - even L lenses.) Also knowledgeable post-processing in Photoshop or similar program plays an important part. I'm currently experiencing critically sharp prints up to 16x24 inches with my Canon 50mm and 100mm Macros. There are a few things I'd change, but overall, this camera is a dream.


personal rating: 95%

Fatih Demirhan - Turkey
January 29th 2006 - 15:30 GMT

I've upgraded my EOS 20D to EOS 5D, which is well worth it in my opinion. The Canon EOS 5D indeed requires a good set of lenses. Even my 28-135 IS lens is not good enough for this camera, get ready for a lens investment if your lenses are below L level.


personal rating: 95%

Mark Watkins - United States
January 21st 2006 - 03:30 GMT

The Canon EOS 5D is a great general purpose camera. But beware it will punish you for using cheap glass. All around the EOS 5D is an awesome machine!


personal rating: 100%

James - United Kingdom
January 21st 2006 - 03:30 GMT

I agree with Rico. The Canon EOS 5D is demanding of user and lens. Get the combination right, and the quality of images that can be captured is extremely good. Start trying to justify it over a 10D or 20D, and you can get a confused by the less expensive alternatives ability to really bring a subject in at the telescopic end. A Canon 5D is not always going to be a 'better' choice and certainly not several hundred dollars or pounds superior for a wildlife shooter. The key is knowing what you want to do and need to achieve. A full frame digital camera will use a lens in a simlar way to a 35mm SLR. That's what I want and the 5D camera delivers. It helps me take far better photographs than I managed with my 10D and 1Ds Mk I. I love it. With my 16-35mm lens it takes photographs that are far better than my ability. With the new 24-135 IS lens it is hugely versatile and capable of simply wonderful, sharp, colour rich and lifelike image capture. A less expensive body will run a 5D close, but I know which I prefer. As always, you have a choice. For that we must all be grateful.


personal rating: 90%

DJV - United States
December 5th 2005 - 20:45 GMT

I bought the Canon 5D with the 17 to 40mm L lens and tested it vs my 6 MP Canon Rebel with its 17 to 55mm lens. I found a common zoom/ enlarge ability point and exposed a series of USAF resolution charts. I was very disappointed with the results. I was only able to resolve one more chart in the corner of the frame and 3 more charts in the center. I took the 5D back! Not worth the extra megabucks.


personal rating: 50%





CanonCasioFujifilmNikonOlympusHTCSamsungSonyPanasonicNokia
  Accessories Android Apps Camcorders Digital cameras Mobile phones Smartphones Software Tablets   CES CeBIT Gadgets IFA Photokina PMA